Wednesday, November 22, 2017

Christmas at Susquehanna to Premiere Nov. 30 on WVIA

Concert to Air Nationwide Throughout December
SELINSGROVE—WVIA Public Media along with Susquehanna University will premiere Christmas at Susquehanna: The 50th Anniversary Candlelight Service, Thursday, Nov. 30 at 8 p.m. The program will also air on more than 100 public television stations nationwide throughout December.

Recorded in December 2016 at Susquehanna’s Weber Chapel, the program captures the voices of students, faculty, staff, alumni, families and community members joining together to celebrate the 50th year of the cherished tradition.

First held on Dec. 15, 1966, the hour-long program is a joyous spectacle of over 1,500 candles and carols, as well as traditional readings and songs in celebration of the season. Produced by Susquehanna University and WVIA Public Media, the program features the University Choir, Chorale, Chamber Singers, Orchestra, Brass and Percussion Ensembles. Musical highlights include “Hark! The Herald Angels Sing,” “O Little Town of Bethlehem,” “We Three Kings,” “Silent Night” and more.

Christmas at Susquehanna: 
The 50th Anniversary Candlelight Service is also available on DVD. Visit www.susqu.edu/buymusicdvd or call 570-372-4281 to order.

Below are the Pennsylvania public television stations expected to air the program:
  • WVIA (Scranton/Wilkes-Barre): Thursday, Nov. 30, 8 p.m. (premiere); Friday, Dec. 1, 2 p.m.; Sunday, Dec. 3, noon; Tuesday, Dec. 19, 4 p.m.; Thursday, Dec. 21, 2 p.m.; Saturday, Dec. 23, 9 p.m.; Sunday, Dec. 24, 11 a.m. and 8 p.m.; Monday, Dec. 25, 10 a.m. and 7 p.m.; Thursday, Dec. 28, 9 p.m.; and Friday, Dec. 29, 3 p.m.
  • WITF (Harrisburg): Tuesday, Dec. 19, 9 p.m.; Wednesday, Dec. 20, 2 a.m.; Monday, Dec. 25, noon.
  • WPSU (Clearfield): Friday, Dec. 22, 10 p.m.; Monday, Dec. 25, 10 a.m.
  • WHYY (Philadelphia): Friday, Dec. 15, 10 p.m.
  • WQED (Pittsburgh) and WQLN (Erie) have not yet posted air dates/times.
Other broadcast dates and times:
  • California: KQED (San Francisco): Sunday Dec. 24, 5 p.m.
  • Florida: WSRE (Pensacola): Sunday, Dec. 24, 3 p.m.; WJCT (Jacksonville): Monday, Dec. 25, midnight
  • Georgia: WPBA (Atlanta): Monday, Dec. 25, midnight
  • Illinois: WTTW (Chicago): Sunday, Dec. 24, 10 a.m.; Dec. 25, 1 a.m.
  • New York: WXXI (Rochester): Sunday, Dec. 24, 10 p.m.; WNED (Buffalo): Friday, Dec. 22, 2 a.m.; Monday, Dec. 25, 2 a.m.

As Christmas approaches, viewers in other parts of the country should consult their local public broadcasting station for broadcast dates and times.

Other Williamsport OnLine Websites