Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Warriors set to host NCAA Men’s Soccer First and Second Rounds

Photo courtesy of Lycoming Sports Informatiobn
WILLIAMSPORT, Pa. – After tying the program record with 18 wins and winning their third MAC Commonwealth Championship in five years, the 12th-ranked Lycoming College men’s soccer team will host the NCAA Division III Men's Soccer First and Second Rounds at the Shangraw Athletic Complex, beginning with a matchup between Lycoming College and Lehman College on Saturday, Nov. 11, at 11 a.m.

In the other first round matchup, Franklin & Marshall College and Drew University will square off at 1:30 p.m. The winners of the two games will face each other on Sunday, Nov. 15, at 1 p.m., with the winner of that game advancing to the round of 16.
Tickets will be available at the Shangraw Athletic Complex 
Mulberry Street gate on Saturday and Sunday for $6 for adults, $3 for senior citizens and $3 for students and $2 for children aged 3-to-12. No athletic passes will be honored.

This is the second time in three years that Lycoming will host the NCAA first and second rounds after they also hosted it in 2015 when they defeated Johnson & Wales and Dickinson to advance to the third round for the first time in school history..

The Warriors earned an automatic bid into the NCAA Division III playoffs with their 2-1 win over Messiah in the MAC Commonwealth Championship. The Falcons were the third-ranked team in the United Soccer Coaches poll and the top-ranked team in the D3soccer.com poll.

Allowing just .527 goals per game, the 12th-best mark in Division III, and scoring 2.5 goals per game, the 33rd best, the Warriors are led by four All-MAC Commonwealth First Team selections in seniors Jordan Logan (Oxford, Pa./Oxford Area), Abdullahi Abdi (Seattle, Wash./James Garfield) and Kyle Thomas (Bel Air, Md./C. Milton Wright) and junior Sainclair Tueno (Silver Spring, Md./Montgomery Blair), the MAC Commonwealth Championship MVP. Senior Kyle Stettenbauer (Columbia, Pa./Hempfield) and junior goalkeeper Chris Solecki(Hainesport, N.J./Lenape) each earned MAC Commonwealth Honorable Mention honors.

Tueno leads the team and is third in the MAC Commonwealth with 10 goals scored while juniorJake Webb (Fairless Hills, Pa./Conwell-Egan Catholic) leads the team with seven assists. Solecki has made 64 saves while completing seven shutouts and playing in four others. His 0.865 save percentage is 18th in the nation and second in the conference.

Lehman comes in with a 13-4-1 overall record as it defeated John Jay, 3-1, in the City University of New York Athletic Conference Championship. It’s the Lightning’s second straight conference title and third in program history. Lehman is led by Salh Alzubidi’s 17 goals, the 14th-most in the nation. Goalie Chris Mulholland is allowing just 0.72 goals a game and has saved 0.824 percent of shots faced.

Franklin & Marshall (11-5-2 overall) enters the tournament on a five-game winning streak after defeating Dickinson, 1-0, in the Centennial Conference Championship. It was the Diplomats’ first conference title since 2013. The team is led by tournament MVP and goalie Chris Amoruso, who is allowing 0.42 goals a game and is saving 0.907 percent of shots faced. Jason Tonelli leads the team with 22 points and 11 goals while Jim Connolly has nine assists.

Drew, the 10th-ranked team in the United Soccer Coaches poll, is 19-0-1 overall after winning the Landmark Conference Championship with its 3-1 win over Elizabethtown. The Rangers are led by Andy Imoh’s 20 points and eight goals and Dylan Hammer’s 19 points and eight goals.

Other Williamsport OnLine Websites