Wednesday, November 1, 2017

Wilkes Field Hockey Has Three Named All-MAC Freedom; Gayoski Named Defensive Player of the Year, Myers Named Coach of the Year

ANNVILLE, Pa. – The Wilkes University field hockey team had three players named to the 2017 Middle Atlantic Conference Freedom (MAC Freedom) All-Conference team as announced by the conference office this morning.

Haley Gayoski was named First Team All-MAC Freedom and the Defensive Player of the Year, Marissa Surdy was named First Team All-MAC Freedom, and Megan Kane was named Second Team All-MAC Freedom while head coach Sara Myers was named the MAC Freedom Coach of the Year.

Gayoski earned her third First Team nod and first Defensive Player of the Year after shattering her previous career totals for goals, assists, and points. After compiling two goals and five assists for nine points her first two seasons, Gayoski finished this season with seven goals and four assists for 18 points as a junior while also serving as the key middle defender for the Lady Colonels.

Surdy earned her fourth-consecutive First Team choice after finishing the regular season ranked seventh in goals (nine), fifth in assists (six), and seventh in points (24) in the MAC Freedom. Surdy currently holds the Wilkes career record for assists and points while standing just two goals from breaking the career record.

Kane earns her second All-Conference selection after being named Honorable Mention as a sophomore in 2016. Kane set new personal bests in goals (seven), assists (seven), and points (21) in 2017, which ranked ninth, third, and ninth in the MAC Freedom, respectively. Kane was an essential two-way midfielder for Wilkes, finishing with two defensive saves this season.

Myers earned her second Coach of the Year selection after previously being named the Freedom Conference Coach of the Year in 2008. Myers led the team back from an 0-2 MAC Freedom record, with an overall record of 3-8 after the Lady Colonels 1-0 loss at Elizabethtown on October 4th. Following that defeat, the team rolled off five consecutive wins, four of which came in MAC Freedom play, to finish the regular season 4-3 in conference with the No. 3 seed in the MAC Freedom Tournament.

2017 All-MAC Freedom Field Hockey Team
Offensive Player of the Year - Colby Eldridge, Misericordia
Defensive Player of the Year - H. Gayoski, Wilkes
Rookie of the Year - Jenna Whitman, Misericordia
Coach of the Year - S. Myers, Wilkes

First Team All- MAC Freedom
F: Ali Balmer, Eastern
F: Kylie Honnick-Payne, DeSales
F: M. Surdy, Wilkes
F: Kelsey Gabriele, King’s
M: Colby Eldridge, Misericordia
M: Gina Miller, Eastern
M: Maggie Sohns, FDU-Florham
D: Madison Brader, DeSales
D: H. Gayoski, Wilkes
D: Makayla Pak, FDU-Florham
GK: Katarina Polyviou

Second Team All-MAC Freedom
F: Emily Antinozzi, Manhattanville
F: Haley Gruber, Misericordia
F: Marissa Kowalskie, FDU-Florham
M: Gabby Allen, FDU-Florham
M: Robin Boot, Manhattanville
M: Chelsea DeFrancisco, DeSales
M: Alison Hoag, Eastern
M: M. Kane, Wilkes
M: Chrissy Penney, FDU-Florham
M: Sarah Zbierski, King’s
D: Lauren Brannan, FDU-Florham
D: Megan Meckling, Misericordia
D: Symantha Sharon, King’s
GK: Kaitlin Halloran, Manhattanville
GK: Samantha Rubin, FDU-Florham

Honorable Mention All-MAC Freedom
F: Brianna DiMaggio, King’s
D: Alexis Gooch, Eastern
D: Autumn Klucsaritis, DeSales
GK: Katelyn Campbell, Misericordia

Other Williamsport OnLine Websites